

18 September 2023

As Australian Parliamentarians, in support of our colleagues' delegation to the United States in September 2023, we are resolutely of the view that the prosecution and incarceration of the Australian citizen Julian Assange must end.

Together with a large and growing number of Australians we believe it is wrong in principle for Mr Assange to be pursued under the Espionage Act (1917), and that it was a political decision to bring the prosecution in the first place. In any case, this matter has dragged on for over a decade and it is wrong for Mr Assange to be further persecuted and denied his liberty when one considers the duration and circumstances of the detention he has already suffered. It serves no purpose, it is unjust, and we say clearly - as friends should always be honest with friends - that the prolonged pursuit of Mr Assange wears away at the substantial foundation of regard and respect that Australians have for the justice system of the United States of America.

We agree entirely with the position expressed by the Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese who said in the House of Representatives on 22 May 2023 that "enough is enough when it comes to the ongoing incarceration of Julian Assange and that nothing is served from the ongoing incarceration of Julian Assange." We welcome the recently expressed agreement on this point from the Leader of the Opposition, and we make clear that the bipartisan leadership support for this position is matched by the wide cross-party and independent support within the Australian Parliament itself, which in turn reflects the strongly held views of the Australian community.

Let there be no doubt that if Julian Assange is removed from the United Kingdom to the United States there will a sharp and sustained outcry in Australia.

We note with gratitude the considerable support in the United States for an end to the legal pursuit of Mr Assange from members of Congress, human rights advocates, academics, and civil society, and from within the US media in defence of free speech and independent journalism. On that basis we ask Congresspeople, members of the press, and other relevant civil society stakeholders in the United States to speak up now in supporting an end to the prosecution and detention of Julian Assange.

We believe the right and best course of action would be for the United States' Department of Justice to cease its pursuit and prosecution of Julian Assange. Alternatively, a decision to simply abandon the extradition proceedings would have the sensible, just, and compassionate effect of allowing Mr Assange to go free from a prolonged and harsh period of high-security detention. It is well and truly time for this matter to end, and for Julian Assange to return home.

Yours sincerely,

The co-convenors of the Bring Julian Assange Home Parliamentary Group:

Merelli.

Andrew Wilkie MP Independent Federal Member for Clark

Josh Wilson MP Labor Federal Member of Fremantle Member for Bass

Bridget Archer MP Liberal Federal

David Shoebridge Greens Senator for New South Wales

The undersigned members of the Australian Parliament:

rame danke

Dai Le MP Member for Fowler

Steve Georganas MP Member for Adelaide

Mile Free

Dr Mike Freelander MP Member for Macarthur

Julian Hill MP Member for Bruce

Senator Alex Antic Senator for South Australia

Dr Sophie Scamps MP Member for Mackellar

ler

Kylea Tink MP Member for North Sydney

DUC

Senator Barbara Pocock Senator for South Australia

Rebekha Sharkie MP Member for Mayo

Colin Baye nin

Colin Boyce MP Member for Flynn

Ulde.

Senator Nick McKim Senator for Tasmania

Senator Peter Whish-Wilson Senator for Tasmania

ordo

Senator Jordan Steele-John Senator for Western Australia

Brian Mitchell MP Member for Lyons

Ralph Babet

Senator Ralph Babet Senator for Victoria

an

Senator the Hon Matt Canavan Senator for Queensland

Senator Gerard Rennick Senator for Queensland

Juard Kennick

Dr Helen Haines MP Member for Indi

Relination

The Hon Melissa Price MP Member for Durack

Susan Templeman MP Member for Macquarie

Stephen Bates MP Member for Brisbane

hom- B-

Dr Monique Ryan MP Member for Kooyong

KEChaner

Kate Chaney MP Member for Curtin

Rick Wilson MP Member for O'Connor

Ourse Nicleer Lost

Louise Miller-Frost MP Member for Boothby

Zali Steggall OAM MP Member for Warringah

Allegra Spender MP Member for Wentworth

Peter Khalil MP Member for Wills

Mascarenhes

Zaneta Mascarenhas MP Member for Swan

Zoe Daniel

Zoe Daniel MP Member for Goldstein

The Hon Warren Entsch MP Member for Leichhardt

Jerome Laxale MP Member for Bennelong

Senator Janet Rice Senator for Victoria

Fiona Phillips

Fiona Phillips MP Member for Gilmore

Elizabeth Watson-Brown MP Member for Ryan

Senator Dorinda Cox Senator for Western Australia

manda-hay il

Dr Michelle Ananda-Rajah MP Member for Higgins

Senator Larissa Waters Senator for Queensland

Senator Lidia Thorpe Senator for Victoria

Adam Bandt MP Leader of the Australian Greens Member for Melbourne

Maria Vamvakinou MP Member for Calwell

Senator David Pocock Senator for Australian **Capital Territory**

Llew O'Brien Llew O'Brien MP

Member for Wide Bay

Gam Jim

Sam Lim MP Member for Tangney

Senator Sarah Hanson-Young Senator for South Australia

Senator Jacqui Lambie Senator for Tasmania

Senator Louise Pratt Senator for Western Australia

Tony Zappia MP Member for Makin

Luke the s

The Hon Luke Howarth MP Member for Petrie

Alicia Payne MP

Member for Canberra

The Hon Barnaby Joyce MP Member for New England

Michaen tarres

Senator Dr Mehreen Faruqi Senator for New South Wales

The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Member for Wright

Libby Coker MP Member for Corangamite

Senator Malcolm Roberts Senator for Queensland

The Hon David Gillespie MP Member for Lyne

Senator Penny Allman-Payne Senator for Queensland

The Hon Shayne Newman MP

(MAD

Max Chandler-Mather MP

Member for Griffith

Senator Andrew Bragg

Senator for New South Wales

Member for Blair